EIGHTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT: ARAPAHOE, DOUGLAS, ELBERT and LINCOLN COUNTIES, COLORADO

Arapahoe County Justice Center 7325 South Potomac Street Centennial, Colorado 80112

Arapahoe County Courthouse 1790 West Littleton Boulevard Littleton, Colorado 80120

Douglas County Justice Center 4000 Justice Way #2009 Castle Rock, Colorado 80109

Elbert County Courthouse PO Box 232, 751 Ute Street Kiowa, Colorado 80117

Lincoln County Courthouse P.O. Box 128, 103 Third Avenue Hugo, Colorado 80821 • COURT USE ONLY •

Chief Judge Order 22-08 April 26, 2022

Division 201

CHIEF JUDGE ORDER 22-08 AUTHORIZING THE CLERKS OF COURT OF THE EIGHTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT TO PERFORM CERTAIN DUTIES IN TRAFFIC INFRACTION CASES

This Chief Judge Order 22-08 is intended to provide authority to perform certain duties in traffic infraction cases to each Clerk of Court, or their designees, within the Eighteenth Judicial District.

Pursuant to C.R.S. §13-6-212(2)(f), the Chief Judge of a judicial district, upon approval of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, may authorize the clerk of the county court, with the consent of the defendant, to accept pleas of guilty and admissions of liability and impose penalties pursuant to an approved schedule in

traffic infraction cases involving regulation of vehicles and traffic for which the penalty specified in section 42-4-1701, C.R.S., or elsewhere in Articles 2 to 4 of title 42, C.R.S., is less than three hundred dollars.

The undersigned finds the Clerks of Court have greater capacity than a judicial officer to process these traffic infraction cases at the first hearing and/or arraignment and authorizing them to do so provides for efficient case management, which ultimately serves the ends of justice.

Therefore, the Clerks of Court of the Eighteenth Judicial District, or their designees, are hereby **ASSIGNED AND AUTHORIZED**, in all traffic infraction cases involving the regulation of vehicles and traffic for which the penalty specified in section 42-4-1701, C.R.S., or elsewhere in Articles 2 to 4 of title 42, C.R.S., with fines or penalty assessments of less than three hundred dollars, as follows:

- (1) To advise defendants of their rights pursuant to Colorado Rules of Traffic Infractions Rule 7;
- (2) To accept pleas of not guilty or denials of liability in such cases, to grant continuances, and to set such cases for final hearings, hearings, or trial;
- (3) With the consent of the defendant, to accept pleas of guilty and admissions of liability and to impose penalties pursuant to the attached "Standard Plea Bargains for Title 42 Traffic Infractions;"
- (4) To enter dismissals under circumstances outlined in the attached "Standard Plea Bargains for Title 42 Traffic Infractions." 1

2

¹ The attached "Standard Plea Bargains for Title 42 Infractions" has been approved by the Eighteenth Judicial District Attorney's Office, the Presiding Judges of the County Courts and the undersigned Chief Judge.

Dated this 26nd day of April, 2022.

BY THE COURT:

Michelle A. Amico

Chief Judge

Approved by:

Brian D. Boatright

Chief Justice

Colorado Supreme Court

Standard Plea Bargains for Title 42 Traffic Infractions

Original Charge	Plea Offer	Fines and Costs
3 points NVOL	2 points - Defective Vehicle 42-4-202(1)	\$35 fine plus costs
Class A (DUR - non-alc) 1st	3 points – Driving under	\$15 fine plus costs
42-2-138(1)(a)	Suspension/Revocation/Denial – OJW	
	42-2-138(1.5)	
6 points Speeding	4 points - Speeding 42-4-1101 (10-19 mph over	\$135 fine plus costs
	limit)	
4 points Speeding	3 Points – Exceeded safe speed for conditions	\$100 fine plus costs
	42-4-1101(3)	
4 points - \$100 fine	3 points – Failure to turn 42-4-901(2)	\$70 fine plus costs
4 points - \$70 fine	3 points – Impeded normal flow of traffic 42-4-	\$50 fine plus costs
	1103(1)	
4 points - \$50 fine or less	3 points – Improper starting from parked	\$30 fine plus costs
	position 42-4-1201(1)	
3 points - \$100 fine	2 points – Failed to use turn signal 42-4-903	\$70 fine plus costs
3 points - \$50 fine or less	2 points – Defective vehicle 42-4-202 (1)	\$35 fine plus costs
2 points - \$50 fine	1 point – Defective vehicle 42-4-202(headlamp)	\$25 fine plus costs
2 points - \$35 or less	1 point – Defective Headlamp	\$15 fine plus costs
2 points – minor driver	1 point – Misuse of mobile communication	\$50 fine plus costs
42-2-105.5	device 42-2-239(2)	
1 point and 0 point	No plea offer	Fines listed plus court costs
*Should law enforcement offer Alive @ 25 or AARP, the court may dismiss charges upon proof of successful completion.		